Umbrella with a Stranger

Would it have been us if…
We lived next each other
And meet up once in a while
Grow up together

Would it have been us if…
We attended the same school
Be on the same grade
Be classmates, a playmate

Would it have been us if…
I just approached you
Deliver this old letter
Say ‘I love you’

Would it have been us if…
I was just like her
Who had the courage to speak up
And took pride of her love

Would it have been us
In another universe
Meeting at a café
On a midsummer day

Would it have been us
In a different time
Under different names
With a different case

Would it have been us if…

Would it have been us then?

Would it have been us?

I looked at you
Under this umbrella
The last time we got this close
Amidst the rain and cold

Then I saw you smile
Your face in colour
As you walked to another
I watched and wondered…

Would it have been us
If you hadn’t met her?
Would it have been us
If you met me first?

Or…
Would you wait for her still
Like I did for you, here

//iseemj


Prompted by a good friend, Kim Cerillo: ‘umbrella’, ‘rain’, ‘ukulele’, ‘stranger’
And the feeling that stuck with me on this is a night scene of a person trying to let go.
First written September 2, 2016

Leave a Reply

